Contacting Officials Is One Of Many Ways You Can Demand Change In Our Law Enforcement System On A Local Level. Don’t Let Them Drag Their Feet.

Amid all of the chaos right now, you’re probably asking yourself, “What’s next?” For some, it’s getting back out there to keep protesting. For others, it’s time to have the tough conversations in your inner circles. But for all of us, it’s time to hold the line and put our officials to work.

Listening sessions and kind words are great, but for our city officials, the real talk comes by way of creating meaningful policy change and measurable action. It’s up to each and every one of us to hold them accountable — flood their inboxes, their social media feeds and their offices with solutions and ideas that don’t include the expansion of funds for a giant police piggy bank. (See the graphic below for more on that.)

It’s time we adequately fund community programming, neighborhood reinvestment and resources for our communities to thrive. We must demand the divestment of segregated housing policies and shift funding to building equitable, reparative infrastructure that leaves no neighborhood behind.

We need transparent and enforceable systems in place to hold those who govern us with force accountable. An introduction of bare minimum policies that vaguely address issues simply isn’t enough. We need to support and demand excellence of our Citizens Police Review Board, who are in the midst of their first official open investigation. We voted these officials in, so let’s hold them accountable. And if you didn’t vote them in? Great news! You have until June 14 to register for the July 14 runoff.

We want to see you at the polls in July, and in November, too. We want to see you in every damn election in this city. Show up. Speak out. And keep showing up. Let’s get to work, Dallas.

City of Dallas Officials

City Manager, T.C. Broadnax
[email protected]

Assistant City Manager – Public Safety, Jon Fortune
[email protected]

Dallas Police Chief Renee Hall.
[email protected]

City of Dallas

Dallas Police Department

Dallas City Council

Mayor Eric Johnson

[email protected]

Council Member Chad West, District 1
[email protected]

Mayor Pro Tem Adam Medrano, District 2
[email protected]

Council Member Casey Thomas, II, District 3

Council Member Carolyn King Arnold, District 4

Council Member Jaime Resendez, District 5
[email protected]

Council Member Omar Narvaez, District 6
[email protected]

Council Member Adam Bazaldua, District 7
[email protected]

Council Member Tennell Atkins, District 8
[email protected]

Council Member Paula Blackmon, District 9
[email protected]

Deputy Mayor Pro Tem B. Adam McGough, District 10
[email protected]

Council Member Lee M. Kleinman, District 11
[email protected]

Council Member Cara Mendelsohn, District 12
[email protected]

Council Member Jennifer Staubach Gates, District 13
[email protected]

Council Member David Blewett, District 14
[email protected]

Dallas County Officials

Dallas County DA, John Creuzot

Dallas County Commissioners Court

Judge Clay Jenkins
[email protected]

Dallas County Commissioner District 1,  Theresa Daniel
[email protected]

County Commissioner District 2, JJ Koch
[email protected]

County Commissioner District 3, John Wiley Price
[email protected]

County Commissioner District 4,  Dr. Elba Garcia
[email protected]

Cover photo via WikiCommons.

No more articles