The Indie-Electronic Duo Returns With An Uplifting, Dance-Ready New Single Off Their ‘This House Will be Filled With___’ EP Out Today.

Welcome to Song of the Day, where we hip you to all the new local releases you should be caring about. By highlighting one new North Texas-sprung tune every week day, our hope is that you’ll find something new to love about the rich and abundant DFW music scene five days a week.

Welcome Center – “Rejoice”
RIYL: Death Cab for Cutie.
What Else You Should Know: Welcome Center released one of our favorite songs of 2019 here at Central Track as “Is This All There Is?” solidified the band as one of Dallas’ most refreshing acts.

Since then, we have been feverishly anticipating the follow-up EP from the somewhat Dallas-based (they collaborate between here and Philadelphia) electronic-pop duo of Jesse Smith and Aaron Sternick. Now, not only have we been gifted a fully choreographed, cinematic new video for “Rejoice,” but the entire EP, This House Will Be Filled With ___, is officially out today.

“Rejoice” serves as the opening track to the five-song EP and fizzes with optimism laid to bubbly synth. Though lyrics of “Don’t just stand there/Show me the way/To my heart,” narrate what seems like an anxious moment of fluttering love, the duo’s airy harmonies and thickset bass riffs leave way for nearly four minutes of dance succumbence. Even on its own, the track’s directive sing-along chorus is enough to get your limbs swaying.

The song does seem prescient given the state of the world right now, though, as it’s born from the journey of making it out of the woods.

“[Rejoice] is inspired by a psilocybin experience during a dark period,” the duo says. “It’s a contemplative & uplifting dance-pop song about redemption & finding a way to push through despite the baggage you carry.”

Lightning seems to have struck twice with Welcome Center, as this might just be one of our favorite releases by a North Texas band so far this year.

Cover photo by Andrew Ryan Shepard.

No more articles