Never Mind Austin. Let This Year's ACL Bands Come To You.

Austin has long been hailed as the “Live Music Capital of the World.” But for how much longer will the city be able to hold on to that title?

With the construction of a new hotel right in the heart of Austin's music district, the subsequent closure of some of the city's most beloved venues and the beginning stages of flight from some of the town's best musicians, the legacy certainly appears to be in trouble.

One area that does still seem quite secure at the moment is Austin's festival game. Between South by Southwest, this weekend's Austin City Limits, the event formerly known as Psych Fest and Fun Fun Fun Fest, it's safe to say that fests are one major area where Austin still kicks the ass of Dallas and most everywhere else, too.

A major advantage that Dallas crowds have over most other cities, though, is the routing spillover that comes with those fests. With Dallas right on the way in or out of Austin, and most bands all too happy to pick up another gig to cover their tour costs, a lot of big names coming to those Austin festivals wind up playing our city anyway.

You may not be able to catch all the ACL acts playing the same day or venue here in town, no. But you can still catch quite a few of them if you plan things out just right — and starting tomorrow night, in fact.

That in mind, here's where to catch everyone from ACL that'll play Dallas in the near future.

Thursday, October 1.
Twenty One Pilots, Echosmith at South Side Ballroom

Friday, October 2.
The Decemberists at Majestic Theatre
In the Valley Below at Dada
Whiskey Myers at House of Blues

Saturday, October 3.
Brand New at The Bomb Factory
Asleep at the Wheel, The Suffers at Main Street Garden Park

Sunday, October 4.
George Ezra, Charlotte OC at House of Blues
The Wind + The Wave at Cambridge Room

Monday, October 5.
Alt-J, San Fermin at South Side Ballroom

Tuesday, October 6.
Lord Huron at House of Blues
Albert Hammond Jr. at Cambridge Room

Wednesday, October 7.
Walk the Moon, Sheppard, Holychild at South Side Ballroom
Royal Blood at House of Blues

Thursday, October 8.
BØRNS at Dada
Billy Idol, The London Souls at House of Blues
Halsey at South Side Ballroom
Drew Holcomb & the Neighbors at Rockin' Rodeo

Friday, October 9.
A$AP Rocky, Vince Staples at South Side Ballroom
Fidlar at Dada
American Aquarium at Kessler Theater

Saturday, October 10.
Marian Hill at House of Blues
Avers at The Foundry

Sunday, October 11.
Misterwives, Waters at House of Blues
Adia Victoria at Three Links

Monday, October 12.
Run the Jewels at House of Blues

Farther out:
Vance Joy: Sunday, October 17 at AT&T Stadium w/ Taylor Swift
Wolf Alice: Sunday, October 18 at Trees
Future: Friday, October 30 at The Bomb Factory as part of Rageville
Meg Myers: Thursday, November 5 at South Side Ballroom
In the Whale: Thursday, November 5 at Rockin' Rodeo
Ume: Saturday, November 7 at Fair Park as part of Untapped: Dallas
Chance the Rapper: Friday, November 13 at South Side Ballroom
Beat Connection: Friday, November 13 at House of Blues
Leon Bridges, Kali Uchis: Saturday, November 14 at Majestic Theatre
Houndmouth: Thursday, November 19 at Granada
William Clark Green: Thursday, November 19 at Rockin' Rodeo
Dwight Yoakam: Saturday, December 5 at WinStar World Casino
Gary Clark Jr.: Sunday, March 6, 2016 at House of Blues

Cover photo by Karlo X. Ramos.

7817_2

7817_3

7817_4

7817_5

7817_6

7817_7

7817_8

7817_9

7817_10

7817_11

7817_12

7817_13

7817_14

7817_15

7817_16

7817_17

7817_18

7817_19

7817_20

7817_21

7817_22

7817_23

7817_24

7817_25

7817_26

7817_27

7817_28

7817_29

7817_30

7817_31

7817_32

7817_33

7817_34

7817_35

7817_36

7817_37

7817_38

7817_39

7817_40

7817_41

7817_42

7817_43

7817_44

7817_45

7817_46

7817_47

7817_48

7817_49

7817_50

No more articles
X